New Zealand news‎ > ‎

EECA Energy Awards - finalists

posted Apr 10, 2012, 4:35 PM by ema-1 ema-1   [ updated Aug 7, 2012, 5:46 PM ]
New Zealand's most innovative energy-saving and renewable energy projects have been revealed, with the 2012 EECA Awards finalists announced today.

The EECA Awards celebrate organisations and individuals who have demonstrated excellence and innovation in energy efficiency or renewable energy. This year, nearly 90 entries were received. Collectively the entries will deliver energy savings, or generate energy, worth more than $60 million over the life of the projects.

"These are trailblazers who are finding innovative energy solutions and tackling energy use head on. They're making a difference in the community, to business, to the environment, to the economy and crucially, to our everyday understanding of energy. This benefits all of us," said Mike Underhill, EECA Chief Executive.

"Our judges were particularly impressed with the standard of entries this year. Although many businesses are still dealing with the impact of the recession, there are many taking a longer term view and proactively improving energy use. This helps future-proof these organisations against price rises, and strengthens their ability to compete on the international stage. It also helps our national energy security and promotes the shift to a lower carbon economy - all of which boosts the competitiveness of New Zealand Inc."

The finalists include:

- a scheme to insulate the entire township of Foxton

- a bank which reduced electricity use by 23% and greenhouse gas emissions by 30%

- a motel with an innovative solution to tap into geothermal heat

- the largest coal to wood pellet conversion in the Southern Hemisphere

- a truck running on landfill biogas

- a family-run hydro electricity scheme built on an old Otago gold mine cut.

Winners will be revealed on Wednesday 23 May at an awards ceremony in Auckland. The event is hosted by EECA with support from principal sponsors Fujitsu General NZ and Eco Insulation.

A Supreme Winner is selected from the winners of each category and will be presented on the night by Minister of Energy and Resources Phil Heatley. An award will also be presented on the night for Outstanding Contribution to Energy Efficiency or Renewable Energy.

The 2012 EECA Awards Finalists

The finalists in alphabetical order, are:

Large Business Award - sponsored by Eco Insulation:

    ASB - ‘Save Watt' energy management programme
    Nelson Pine Industries - energy savings through motor system and heat optimisation
    SCA Hygiene Australasia - replacement of gas boilers with direct geothermal steam

Small Business Award - sponsored by Knauf Insulation:

    Alpin Motel and Conference Centre, Rotorua - innovative heat exchange to capture renewable geothermal heat
    EcoSystems / Whanganui Pak N'Save - store-wide energy efficiency saves 40%
    Life Technologies, Christchurch - sustainability and energy saving initiatives

Innovation Award - sponsored by Fisher & Paykel:

    Aurecon NZ Ltd / Dominion Salt - vacuum plant upgrade to expand capacity
    NIWA - biogas transport fuel demonstration project at Redvale Landfill
    Simply Energy - energy retail ‘white label' services for distributed generation

Energy Management Award - sponsored by Contact Energy:

    ASB - ‘Save Watt' energy management programme
    DMS Progrowers Ltd - post-harvest energy management at Te Puke and Te Puna
    Nelson Pine Industries Ltd - energy savings through motor system and heat optimisation
    New Zealand Post Group - corporate sustainability programme

Transport Award - sponsored by Z Energy:

    Air New Zealand - fleet fuel efficiency and carbon reduction
    Biodiesel New Zealand Ltd - development of ‘Biogold' biofuel and market
    New Zealand Post Group - corporate sustainability / carbon reduction programme

Community Award - sponsored by Fujitsu General New Zealand:

    Autex Industries Ltd - Warm Up Foxton project
    Greater Wellington Regional Council - Warm Greater Wellington scheme
    Tūwharetoa Settlement Trust - Tūwharetoa special insulation project

Renewable Energy Award:

    Golden Bay Cement - fuel-switching to waste-derived bioenergy
    Lake District Health Board - Taupo Hospital conversion from coal heating to geothermal
    Talla Burn Generation Ltd - family-run hydro generation scheme

Public Sector Award:

    Kapiti Coast District Council - energy saving and renewable energy projects
    New Plymouth District Council - energy management programme
    New Zealand Defence Force / Nature's Flame - conversion of Waiouru base boiler from coal to wood pellets
    New Zealand Post Group - corporate sustainability / carbon reduction programme

More information about the finalists and their projects can be viewed at